Winter Solstice night or what to do on 21st of December

Since the start of winter in London I have been bombarded by Facebook and email invitations to Essense Winter Solstice Celebration (yes, es-sense). Very excited with the idea that it was invitation/networking-based party with the potential to gather a large number of likeminded Londoners and spiritual types under one roof, me and Dani got 2 late bird tickets and set ourselves to ignore weather conditions outside. Freezing!

Dress code: white and tribal/ethnic – exactly the thing you would expect from the night like that. Just one tiny detail – it is -6C outside and all my pretty party stuff is meant for warm summer nights. So I jumped into low profile warm clothes and exaggerated on tribal make-up. Always a solution!

Did I mention me and Dani were brave enough to cycle 3.5 miles to Brixton and back home battling icy roads and even icier winds? “This is not girly at all!” – I shouted to him on the way, but in my head I was comforting myself with an idea that a) I actively dislike public transport and long waits for night buses b) I can remain loyal to my principles of cycling in London. Hurray! We reached the destination alive.

The problem for a wake-up-early-go-to-bed-early type of person like me is that the solstice celebration is meant to be an all-nighter. Hmm. We were in location at 10 pm hoping that the party would be rolling already. How naïve. By 10pm couple of dozen of organisers and helpers were still buzzing around decorating the place while a few other ‘early birds’ were hanging around in a traditional-English-pub-setting-turned-into-a-hippy-haven with yogi teas, chai and love potions (??). Despite that, there was an overwhelming spirit of a community in the place – I immediately felt at home. People were lovely, friendly, warm-hearted and connected. In these moments I can’t help myself thinking “wow, what a wonderful, organic and ever changing community there is in London!”

Four halls, chillout area, healing area, endless inspirational quotes on the walls…. All home-made and DIY’ed with love.  Bliss, serenity, love, vision, crystals, beautiful artwork, decorations, lights, visuals all mixed up together to create a space for the best day ever to happen. Or at least that’s what the posters from the walls spoke to me. And it wasn’t far from that at all. Chillout area – which I instantly favoured – reminded me of cosy evenings at Buddhafield festival with freshly made chai, raw chocolate infused with good vibrations (like always loads of it), cosy atmosphere, grassroots performers, healers, angels, vegans, seekers, mediums, observers and other spiritual types.  But more importantly, lots of hugs, smiles and catching up with long-not-seen buddies (you would be surprised how many friends of friends which are your friends as well you meet! – neat networks, small world).

And hey, the opening ceremony was absolutely magic! Suddenly half empty hall with dancers here and there was filled and packed with people from all directions. The spiral was quickly and smoothly formed. Love flowing freely in the room, hand by hand we breathed and chanted Ommmm as one, present, bright and powerful. And then – let the party begin! The line-up for the whole night (until 7am!) was impeccable with live performances, DJ’s and both combined.

 People make a party and people were great. Bright, conscious, diverse, embracing and present. Well done to the organisers, the helpers and everyone who were there to be, love and celebrate.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Robert Marron said,

    Hi Aiste,

    As one of the organisers of the Essense party I’d just like to say what a lovely description of the nights events and many thanks for taking the time to write about it on your blog. I also admire your bravery and determination in cycling to the event, that’s not an option I would have taken myself but am so glad your effort was rewarded. Hope to see you at the next one.
    Love & Light
    Rob
    x


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

